Rig up and get going

Snowkiting spot at the Bernina Pass in the Engadine

Snowkiting on the Bernina Pass in Pontresina is considered an insiders’ favourite among all the kite spots in the Engadine. The surfaces at the Lago Bianco and Lago Nero are versatile and windy. The Bernina Pass truly caters to every level of snowkiter, with areas for racers, beginners and freestylers – and to top it all off there is a wide range of backcountry opportunities and some of the longest and most demanding snowkite tours in Switzerland. If gliding on the snow-covered ice is too boring for you, simply head up on one the adjacent mountains – exhilarating flight guaranteed!

The best time for snowkiting is from December to January when the powder snow prevails

Snowkiting throughout the winter

The Bernina Pass is a typical north-south connection. Ideal wind conditions for snowkiting are north, northeast. The northern foehn provides for a bright blue sky while the southern foehn ensures a lot of snow. Whatever the conditions, the pass road is open all winter, which means that  kiters can easily reach the spot by car or Rhaetian Railway, rig up their kites and get going. Those looking for a more exclusive experience on the Bernina should try out the spot on the east side. There you are likely to kite almost all alone. 

Ospizio Bernina for a quick lunch in between

In nearby Albergo Ospizio Bernina, snowkiters warm up and are served a plate of Polenta Pizzoccheri alla Valtellines to fuel up for the next ride. Those wishing to explore the conditions on the Bernina Pass from afar can do so on the webcam or by checking out the local weather forecasts from the Bernina Hospice.


Swiss Kitesurf GmbH
Tel. +41 81 828 97 67

BigDayz Kitesports GmbH
Tel. +41 79 370 63 67

Snowkiten
Aufriggen und losrippen

Snowkite-Spot am Berninapass im Engadin

Snowkiten am Berninapass bei Pontresina gilt in der Kitesurf-Szene als Geheimtipp unter den Snowkite-Gebieten im Engadin. Die Flächen beim Lago Bianco und Lago Nero sind vielseitig und windreich. Hier finden Snowkiter alles, was sie suchen: ein Gebiet für Racer, Anfänger und Freestyler. Dazu Backcountry-Möglichkeiten und einige der längsten und anspruchvollsten Snowkite-Touren der Schweiz. Wem das Gleiten über die schneebedeckten Eisschichten zu langweilig wird, lässt sich einfach mit seinem Lenkdrachen einen der angrenzenden Berge hinaufziehen – spektakulärer Abflug garantiert.

Die beste Zeit fürs Snowkiten ist von Dezember bis Januar, wenn es Pulverschnee hat.

Snowkiten während des ganzen Winters

Der Berninapass ist eine typische Nord–Südverbindung. Ideale Windbedingungen zum Snowkiten sind Nord, Nordwest. Nordföhn bereitet hier einen knallblauen Himmel, bei Südföhn wird man schon mal richtig eingeschneit. Wie auch immer, die Passstrasse ist den ganzen Winter offen. Das heisst: Kiter können bequem mit dem Auto oder der Rhätischen Bahn an den Spot fahren, den Kite aufriggen und gleich losrippen. Wer eine etwas exklusivere Variante auf dem Bernina sucht, sollte mal den Spot auf der Ostseite ausprobieren. Hier kitet man garantiert fast alleine. 

Ospizio Bernina für den Lunch zwischendurch

Im nahegelegenen Albergo Ospizio Bernina wärmen sich Snowkiter auf und stärken sich für den nächsten Ride mit einem Teller Polenta oder Pizzoccheri alla Valtellinese. Wer die Verhältnisse am Berninapass aus der Ferne auskundschaften möchte, informiert sich über die Webcam oder die lokalen Wetterprognosen des Bernina Hospiz.

Snowkite-Schulen und Mietmaterial

Swiss Kitesurf GmbH
Tel. +41 81 828 97 67
info@kitesailing.ch
www.kitesailing.ch

BigDayz Kitesports GmbH
Tel. +41 79 370 63 67
office@bigdayz.com
www.bigdayz.com