Camerata
100 free forest concerts

Camerata – Salon music in Pontresina

They still exist. Things that were believed to be long since extinct. Pencil sharpeners, phone books, or even the legendary spa concerts of Camerata Pontresina. The latter premiered in 1910 instead and have been the main attraction of Pontresina summer program ever since. Fast forward one century: in summer – weather permitting - salon music still rings out every day at 11:00 in Taiswald. When you sit down on a bench there, you embark on a journey back to the heyday of the Belle Époque. Close your eyes and just enjoy.

In summer, the orchestra performs daily.

Time travel back into the Belle Époque

Suddenly you see men with elegant walking sticks and ladies with big hats sauntering over from Pontresina Grand hotels. Over here, they dare to go alone - without a mountain guide – because the daily salon concert is something that can’t be missed. And for good reason: after all, the musicians playing here are from Milan’s La Scala. And all this in the crisp mountain air – in a far more relaxed atmosphere than in the sweltering heat of the city.

Music classics in the heart of Taiswald

When you open your eyes again, you will see a slightly different, but no less charming image. These days, the walking sticks often come in pairs and are made of carbon. And something else is different, too: the wide--brimmed hats have given way to baseball hats, and the young ladies show a lot of leg in short shorts. Up front on a small stage, musicians are celebrating classics of salon music. But what exactly is this salon music that sounds through the forest every summer? Back in the days long before CDs and smartphones, composers wanted to present their works in the bourgeois salons and hotels. Therefore, they wrote interpretations for smaller ensembles. Connoisseurs love it – even today. Because sometimes it creates an even more beautiful acoustic pattern than the original. The audience in Taiswald agrees – hopefully for the next hundred years to come.

Evening performances of the orchestra

Fans of classical music can, as a supplement to the magical morning concerts, end the day on four evenings with a vesper concert in the Taiswald or the Sta. Maria Church. The exclusive performances will take place on the following Tuesdays at 5.30 pm: 19 July, 26 July, 2 Aug, 9 August. Detailed information can be found in the flyer

Young People's concerts

There are two concerts this summer especially for young audiences and those young at heart. On the mornings of 20 July and 3 August, well-known pieces from cinema blockbusters such as Harry Potter and Pirates of the Caribbean will resound through the Taiswald alongside classical musical treats.

Camerata Pontresina free morning concerts

Weather permitting, Camerata Pontresina plays 100 free morning concerts in Taiswald.

Concert times
Daily from June 19th to September 25th 2022
11 – 12 am

Registration
Is not requieret in advance. Visitors are requested to register at the location.

Weather
In adverse weather, the concerts take place in the Conference & Culture Centre Pontresina or in the Reformed Church.
Please note the information boards in the village.

Programm
Special Exhibition: Height Music. Orchestra of the hotels and spa associations in the Engadine.

International conference and vernissage: Salon Orchestra of the Alp

Eventkalender

Camerata
100 kostenlose Waldkonzerte

Camerata Pontresina

Es gibt sie noch. Dinge, von denen man glaubte, sie seien schon längst nicht mehr. Bleistiftspitzer, Telefonbücher oder eben die legendären Kurkonzerte der Camerata Pontresina. Letztere fanden erstmals 1910 statt und bildeten lange Zeit die Hauptattraktion des Pontresiner Sommerprogramms. Über ein Jahrhundert später: Noch immer erklingt im Sommer bei guter Witterung täglich um 11.00 Uhr Salonmusik mitten im Taiswald. Wer sich am Konzertplatz des Pontresiner Kurorchesters auf eine Bank setzt, begibt sich auf eine Zeitreise zurück zum Höhepunkt der Belle Époque. Augen schliessen und einfach nur geniessen. 

Das Kurorchester spielt im Sommer täglich Konzerte.

Zeitreise in die Belle Époque

Plötzlich sieht man Herren mit edlen Spazierstöcken und Damen mit grossen Hüten, die von den Pontresiner Grand Hotels herüber flanieren. Bis hierher trauen sie sich noch alleine – ohne Begleitung eines Bergführers. Denn das tägliche Kurkonzert lässt man sich eben nicht entgehen. Aus gutem Grund: Immerhin spielen hier Musiker der Mailänder Scala auf. Und erst noch in der frischen Bergluft –  einer entspannteren Atmosphäre als in der brütenden Hitze der Grossstadt.

Musikklassiker mitten im Taiswald

Öffnet man die Augen wieder, bietet sich ein etwas anderes, aber durchaus charmantes Bild. Die Spazierstöcke kommen heute oft im Doppelpack und sind aus Karbon. Und noch etwas ist anders: Die ausladenden Hüte haben Baseball Caps Platz gemacht, die jungen Damen zeigen Bein in knappen Shorts. Ganz vorne auf einer kleinen Bühne zelebrieren Musiker Klassiker der Salonmusik. Doch was genau ist eigentlich diese Salonmusik, die hier jeden Sommer durch den Wald klingt? In den Zeiten lange vor CDs und Smartphones wollten Komponisten ihre Werke in den bürgerlichen Salons und Hotels präsentieren. Sie schrieben daher Interpretationen für kleinere Musikbesetzungen. Kenner schwören darauf – heute noch. Denn manchmal entsteht dadurch ein besseres Klangbild als im Original. Das Publikum im Taiswald teilt diese Meinung. Hoffentlich ein weiteres Jahrhundert.

Abendauftritte des Kurorchesters

Fans der klassischen Musik können, als Ergänzung zu den magischen Morgenkonzerten, an vier Abenden den Tag bei einem Vesperkonzert im Taiswald oder der Kirche Sta. Maria ausklingen lassen. Die exklusiven Auftritte finden an folgenden Dienstagen jeweils um 17.30 Uhr statt: 19. Juli, 26. Juli, 2. August,
9. August. Detaillierte Informationen sind im Flyer ersichtlich. 

Young People’s concerts

Zudem gibt es diesen Sommer zwei Konzerte speziell Für junges und junggebliebenes Publikum. Am Morgen des 20. Juli und 3. August erklingen, neben den klassischen musikalischen Leckerbissen, bekannte Stücke aus Kinoblockbustern wie Harry Potter und Fluch der Karibik durch den Taiswald.

112. Jahre Camerata-Sommerkonzerte

Die Camerata Pontresina spielt bei schönem Wetter kostenlos 100 Morgenkonzerte im Taiswald.

Tägliche Konzertzeiten
19. Juni bis 25. September 2022
11 bis 12 Uhr

Camerata-Programmheft 2022


Anmeldung

Es ist keine Anmeldung im Voraus notwendig.

Allwetter-Konzerte
Bei ungünstiger Witterung finden die Camerata-Konzerte im Gemeinde- und Kongresszentrum Rondo oder in der reformierten Kirche statt.
Beachten Sie hierzu die Camerata-Hinweistafeln im Dorf.

Weitere Veranstaltungen
Sonderausstellung: Höhenmusik.
Orchester der Hotels und Kurvereine im Engadin


Internationale Tagung: Salonorchester der Alpen

Eventkalender