Culinary magic in Pontresina

Two tablespoons of creativity, a pinch of ingenuity and a dash southern temperament. Pour everything into a pot, stir, and heat thoroughly – et voilà the magic concoction. Such is the process as dishes are meticulously prepared at the Kronenstübli in Pontresina when Chef Fabrizio Piantanida and his 22 sorcerer's apprentices conjure up classic French or traditional Italian cuisine. One thing is for sure: guests in Pontresina will definitely not go hungry. The experts at Gault Millau agree and have awarded 15 points to Piantanida, making Pontresina one of the top addresses – even by international standards.

Fabrizio Piantanida
Top chef and an avid Pontresina fan

The 40-year-old chef Fabrizio Piantanida continues the tradition of upscale gourmet cuisine at the Kronenstübli of the Grand Hotel Kronenhof in Pontresina. Indeed, his interpretation of a classic French and traditional Italian-inspired cuisine has earned him 15 Gault Millau points. 
Today’s Alpine cuisine is playful and varied.

At the Kronenstübli, the 40-year-old Piemontese continues the gourmet tradition at the highest level. The undisputed highlight is his "Canard à la Presse", which is presented at the table with a silver duck press. The duck is first cooked in the oven and roasted with its skin. Then the carcass, heart, and liver are pressed in a screw press, becoming the base of a unique sauce. The dish is originally from Tour d'Argent in Paris, France's oldest restaurant. In addition to traditional recipes, Piantanida deems regional ingredients important: "Char from the Engadine, lamb from the Puschlav or potatoes from the Albula Pass." He finds it interesting to see how Alpine gastronomy has developed over the years: "It has become more varied and playful. In the past, for example, there wasn’t much more than a standard cheese fondue. Today, there are various mixtures with truffles, champagne, or mountain herbs."

But how are new dishes created at the Kronenhof? "I read many cookbooks and talk to other chefs. That gives me inspiration for new ideas," says Piantanida. Last summer, for example, he collected pine cones in the forest of Starz. "We used their aroma for a special salt crust around a beef fillet. Worked great." We are certainly curious as to what Piantanida is going to conjure up next to captivate his patrons. Whatever it is, it will without a doubt contribute to exquisite fine dining in Pontresina.

Gaumenzauberei in Pontresina

Zwei Esslöffel Kreativität, eine Prise Genialität und einen Schuss südländisches Temperament. All das gibt man in einen Topf, rührt kräfig um und heizt tüchtig ein – fertig ist die Zauberformel. So oder ähnlich entstehen im Pontresiner Kronenenstübli Gerichte, wenn Chefkoch Fabrizio Piantanida und seine 22 Zauberlehrlinge eine klassisch-französische und traditionell-italienische Küche heraufbeschwören. Dabei ist eines gewiss: Gäste in Pontresina müssen garantiert nicht verhungern. Das sehen die Herren von GaultMillau ebenso und haben Piantanida mit 15 Punkten ausgezeichnet. Pontresina gehört damit zu den Top-Adressen – auch im internationalen Vergleich.

Fabrizio Piantanida
Spitzenkoch und bekennender Pontresina-Fan

Der 40-Jährige Spitzenkoch Fabrizio Piantanida setzt die Tradition der gehobenen Gourmet-Küche im Kronenstübli vom Grand Hotel Kronenhof in Pontresina fort. Mit seiner Interpretation einer klassisch-französischen und traditionell-italienisch inspirierter Küche hat er sich 15 GaultMillau-Punkte erkocht. 
Die Berggastronomie ist heute verspielt und und variantenreich.

Der 40-Jährige Piemontese setzt die Gourmet-Tradition im Kronenstübli auf höchstem Niveau fort. Unangefochtenes Highlight ist dabei sein „Canard à la Presse“, das am Tisch mit einer silbernen Entenpresse zelebriert wird. Dabei wird die Ente zuerst im Ofen gegart und mit der Haut gebraten. Anschliessend wird die Karkasse, Herz und Leber in einer Spindelpresse zur Grundlage einer einzigartigen Sauce ausgepresst. Das Gericht stammt ursprünglich vom Tour d’Argent in Paris, dem ältesten Restaurant Frankreichs. Neben traditionellen Rezepten sind Piantanida regionale Zutaten wichtig: „Saibling aus dem Engadin, Lamm aus dem Puschlav oder Kartoffeln vom Albulapass.“ Er findet es interessant, wie sich die Berggastronomie über die Jahre entwickelt hat: „Sie ist variantenreicher und verspielter geworden. Früher gab’s beispielsweise nur normales Käsefondue. Heute gibt es verschiedene Mischungen mit Trüffel, Champagner oder Bergkräutern.“

Doch wie entstehen eigentlich neue Gerichte im Kronenhof? „Ich lese viele Kochbücher und tausche mich mit anderen Köchen aus. Das liefert mir Inspiration für neue Ideen“, sagt Piantanida. Letzten Sommer beispielsweise habe er im Stazerwald Tannenzapfen gesammelt. „Deren Aroma haben wir bei einem Rinds-Filet für eine spezielle Salzkruste verwendet. Hat super funktioniert“. Na dann, wir sind gespannt was Piantanida als nächstes aus seinem Hut zaubert, um seine Gäste zu verzücken. Etwas bleibt gewiss: Für eine stilvolle Küche in Pontresina ist gesorgt.